Senate

The ASUCD Senate is responsible for maintenance, use and title to all ASUCD property, allocation of all ASUCD revenues,  and the development of all policies and regulations necessary for the smooth and efficient operation of ASUCD. The Senate consists of twelve (12) elected members of the student body who represent the student voice at  UC Davis. The Senate consists of twenty-two members, but only the twelve (12) Senators have the ability to vote.  The ASUCD Vice President may  cast a vote only in order to break a tie.

How can I speak during a Senate meeting?

The agendas for Senate meetings are announced in advance here. The meetings follow Parliamentary Procedures. If you are unfamiliar with these procedures you can follow the guidelines here. To speak, simply arrive to the meeting at any time and raise your hand in order to be placed on the speakers’ list. You will have 5 minutes to speak with 2 – 2 minute deferments.

When and where are the Senate meetings held?

Meetings are usually held on Thursdays starting at 6:10pm in the Mee Room on the 3rd floor of the Memorial Union. No meetings occur during Finals Week unless a special meeting is called. Please refer to the announcements on the home page or dates on the agenda page for an updated list of meeting dates.

How can I place an item on the agenda?

If you would like to place anything on the agenda such as a presentation, an item you would like to discuss during public discussion, a bill or resolution, please email the ASUCD Vice President at vicepresident@asucd.ucdavis.edu to coordinate an agenda item. Anything to be placed on the agenda must be submitted no later than 11:59pm on the Tuesday prior to the Thursday meeting.

How can I contact the ASUCD Senate?

If you would like to contact the ASUCD Senate regarding any issue on campus, you may reach out to any ASUCD Senator listed below or send an email to the Senate Listserv at senate@ucdavis.edu

ASUCD Senate Members

Presiding Officer of the Senate

Shaniah Branson Vice President (ex officio)

ASUCD Senators Fall 2018

Fall 2018 Senators Office Hours Email Personal Gender Pronouns
Brandon Clemons TBA btclemons@ucdavis.edu He/Him/His
Daniella Aloni Tuesdays and Thursdays from 1:00 PM to 2:30 PM in the CoHo, or on the Quad, if weather permits. Also available by appointment and on certain weekends. dtaloni@ucdavis.edu She/Her/Hers
Alisha Hacker* Tuesday and Thursdays from 12:00-1:30 pm at the CoHo. achacker@ucdavis.edu She/Her/Hers
Ko Ser Htoo Tuesdays from 10:00 AM to 12:00 PM at the LGBTQIARC Center, Thursdays from 10:00 to 12:00 PM at the International Center klhtoo@ucdavis.edu They/Them/Theirs

She/Her/Hers

Simranjit Kaur TBA kaukaur@ucdavis.edu She/Her/Hers
Jesse Kullar TBA jskullar@ucdavis.edu He/Him/His
Jumoke Maraiyesa Wednesdays from 12-1pm at CADS and Fridays from 12-1pm at the SCC. jmaraiyesa@ucdavis.edu She/Her/Hers
Bryan Perez
TBA
bnperez@ucdavis.edu He/Him/His
Atanas Spasov TBA avspasov@ucdavis.edu He/Him/His
Devo Leichter (Interim ASUCD Senator) Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays from 11:00 AM to 12:00 PM, at the CoHo. dhleichter@ucdavis.edu He/Him/His
Sydney Hack TBA smhack@ucdavis.edu She/Her/Hers
Maria Martinez TBA She/Her/Hers

* Indicates Pro Tempore of the Senate

Ex-Officio Members of the ASUCD Senate

Name Position
Justin Hurst Academic Affairs Commission Chair
André Spinoglio Business and Finance Commission Chair
Alice Beittel Environmental Policy and Planning Chair
Jacob Ganz Internal Affairs Commission Chair
Rina Singh Ethnic and Cultural Affairs Commission Chair
TBD External Affairs Commission Chair
TBD Gender and Sexuality Commission Chair
Meital Machulsky Controller