Executive // Senate // Judicial // Elections //


The Associated Students, University of California, Davis is run by a three-branch, federal model government with some city council-style modifications. It consists of an executive branch, a legislative branch, and a judicial branch, as well as administrative support units.

From the Preamble of the ASUCD Constitution:

“The Associated Students, University of California, Davis is hereby constituted to represent its membership in the University of California and in the greater community and to increase the role and impact of its members on those decisions affecting their lives.

The Association is also constituted to create and provide services and activities which its membership shall consider important to fulfilling the experience of being a student attending the University of California, Davis.”


The executive office consists of the ASUCD President, Vice President and ASUCD Controller as well as their respective staff. Elections for the offices of ASUCD President and Vice President are held annually during the seventh week of winter quarter. After this election, the new President appoints the ASUCD Controller. The executive office oversees all ASUCD units, but the President often takes a more direct role in Advocacy Units, while the Controller manages Business Units.


The legislative branch consists of twelve ASUCD Senators, seven commissions, an Outreach Assembly, and various permanent and special committees.  Elections for ASUCD Senate are held twice a year, with six senators elected during each of the two yearly elections. The first election occurs during fall quarter and the second election coincides with the executive office elections in winter quarter. On a quarterly basis, the Senate also elects a Senate President Pro Tempore from its membership.


The judicial branch consists of the ASUCD Court. Its membership is comprised of nine justices appointed to four year terms.  The Judiciary is responsible for interpreting legislation whenever conflict arises.

Other Student Government Offices

  • External Advocacy Units
  • Campus Center for the Environment
  • Student Government Administrative Office