Minutes // Agenda // Senate Bills // Senate Resolutions // Voting Records


The ASUCD Senate is responsible for maintenance, use and title to all ASUCD property, allocation of all ASUCD revenues,  and the development of all policies and regulations necessary for the smooth and efficient operation of ASUCD. The Senate consists of twelve (12) elected members of the student body who represent the student voice at  UC Davis . The Senate consists of twenty-two members, but only the twelve (12) Senators have the ability to vote.  The ASUCD Vice President may  cast a vote only in order to break a tie.

How can I speak during a Senate meeting?

The agendas for Senate meetings are announced 24 hours in advance here. The meetings follow Parliamentary Procedures. If you are unfamiliar with these procedures you can follow the guidelines here. To speak, simply arrive to the meeting at any time and raise your hand in order to be placed on the speakers’ list. You will have 5 minutes to speak with 2 – 2 minute deferments.

When and where are the Senate meetings held?

Meetings are usually held on Thursdays starting at 6:10pm in the Memorial Union Special Events Room. No meetings occur during Finals Week unless a special meeting is called. Please refer to the announcements on the home page or dates on the agenda page for an updated list of meeting dates.

How can I place an item on the agenda?

If you would like to place anything on the agenda such as a presentation, an item you would like to discuss during public discussion, a bill or resolution, please email the ASUCD Vice President at vicepresident@asucd.ucdavis.edu to coordinate an agenda item. Anything to be placed on the agenda must be submitted no later than 11:59pm on the Tuesday prior to the Thursday meeting.

How can I contact the ASUCD Senate?

If you would like to contact the ASUCD Senate regarding any issue on campus, you may reach out to any ASUCD Senator listed below or send an email to the Senate Listserv at senate@ucdavis.edu

ASUCD Senate Members

Presiding Officer of the Senate

Maxwell Kappes Vice President (ex officio)

ASUCD Senators 2013-2014

Fall Term Senators Winter Term Senators
Gareth Smythe* Azka Fayyaz
Mariah Watson Robyn Huey
Katherine Sherman Amelia Helland
Nick Park Artem Senchev
Janesh Gupta Nicholas Sanchez
Jonathan Mitchell Eugenia Chung

* Indicates Pro Tempore of the Senate

Ex-Officio Members of the ASUCD Senate

Name Position
Dana Lee Sever Academic Affairs Commission Chair
Zach Griffiths Business and Finance Commission Chair
Amy Ly External Affairs Commission Chair
Spencer McManus Internal Affairs Commission Chair
Kriti Garg Ethnic and Cultural Affairs Commission Chair
Robert Helfend Gender and Sexuality Commission Chair
Naftali Moed Environmental Policy and Planning Commission Chair
Eric Renslo Elections Committee Chair
Rylan Schaeffer Controller
Lauren Ashe Outreach Assembly Speaker