The ASUCD Court consists of eight associate justices and one chief justice. Its main responsibility is to interpret the wording of the ASUCD Constitution and legislation enacted pursuant to the Constitution. It is also responsible for reviewing previously enacted legislation made by the ASUCD Senate as requested by any ASUCD members. Once appointed, members of the Court serve for the remainder of their membership in ASUCD, as long as it does not exceed four years.


Wednesdays at 8:00pm in the AMC Room



Member Date Appointed Appt. by President;
Chief Justice Wooju Kim 10/2012 Rebecca Sterling
Vice Chief Justice Jefferson Chau 6/2012 Rebecca Sterling
Associate Justice April Johnson 6/2012 Rebecca Sterling
Associate Justice Abel Wang 10/2012 Rebecca Sterling
Associate Justice Jason Trinidad 10/2012 Rebecca Sterling
Associate Justice Shayda Rashidi 10/2012 Rebecca Sterling
Associate Justice Ross Leech 1/2014 Carly Sandstrom
Associate Justice Andaru Iman 1/2014 Carly Sandstrom
Associate Justice David Belcher 1/2014 Carly Sandstrom

Associate Justice Bios:

Jefferson Chau

Year: Senior
Major(s)/Minors(s): Political Science and History

Bio: Jefferson is a Political Science and History double major from Castro Valley, California. Serving with the court since June of 2012, Jefferson is very passionate about the intricacies of constitutional law and political theory. He frequently enjoys discussing the finer points of both subjects with his friends and family. When serving in his official capacity on the court, he strives for greater efficiency within the judiciary, better relations with the other branches of ASUCD and upholding the standards of impartiality which defines the judicial branch. When not serving in his official capacity, however, he enjoys hanging out with friends, going to the driving range, participating in long range marksmanship competitions and enjoying the finer things life has to offer. Jefferson one day hopes to attend law school and eventually practice law as a Federal Prosecutor and/or serve as a Judge. If you ever have any questions or concerns about the judiciary, feel free to contact him.

Jason Trinidad

Year: Senior
Major(s)/Minor(s): Philosophy

Bio: Jason Trinidad is a Senior student Philosophy major from Union City, California. He has served on the ASUCD Court since October, 2012 (Fall 2012). Jason is Reserve and very passionate on all the projects he works on, even if it reminds simply as an idea in his mind. Additionally, he is involved in the Philosophy Club. Outside of ASUCD and on-campus organisation, he enjoys spending time with friends, reading/writing, watching TV shows/films, conversing, and philosophical exchanges. Also, not doing anything after or before having done something (balance). If you have any questions or simply want to talk he will be more than happy to be there. Further, if you have any questions and/or concerns about the ASUCD Court he will be more than happy to talk to you.

Abel Wang

Year: Senior
Major(s)/Minor(s): Managerial Economics

Bio: Abel is a Senior Managerial Economics major from Fremont, CA. He has served as an Associate Justice on the ASUCD Court since Fall 2012. As a junior, Abel originally joined the Court out of sheer boredom, but has since been drawn to serving ASUCD and playing a part in the Court’s vital role of ensuring that the Executive and Legislative branches are operating in good faith and in line with the ASUCD Constitution. Outside of ASUCD,Abel enjoys biking, longboarding, trying new restaurants, and watching TV shows about people consistently making dumb decisions (his current favorite shows are Workaholics, Breaking Bad, and Game of Thrones). Feel free to stop him in the middle of the MU anytime to talk about these shows. And about ASUCD, of course.

Shayda Rashidi

Year: Sophomore
Major(s)/Minors(s): Neurobiology, Physiology and Behavior

Bio: Shayda was raised in San Diego, California. She currently is an NPB major and has been serving the court since Fall 2012. As a new member, Shayda has found a passion for her role in the ASUCD Judicial Branch. She enjoys dedicating time in familiarizing the relations of the ASUCD constitutional laws and bylaws. On her free time, Shayda likes eating, hanging out with friends, and just having a good time.

April Johnson

Year: Senior
Major(s)/Minors(s): Political Science and Sociology

Bio: April is a fourth year Political Science and Sociology double major. Before serving on the ASUCD Court, she was a member of the Academic Affairs Commission. She enjoys being involved in student government and hopes to make a positive difference at UC Davis. Don’t hesitate to approach her with any questions about ASUCD!

Andaru Iman

Year: Junior
Major(s)/Minors(s): Economics

Bio: Andaru Iman is a third year with a major in Economics and a minor in Mathematics from Irvine, California whose term started in the Winter Quarter of the 2013-2014 year. His most important career goal is to be a part of an international economic policy making body to be able to solve the severe inequalities and socioeconomic dilemmas around the world. Andaru recognizes the importance of law and politics and the human side of decision making, as opposed to the technical side, and has much experience in this regard through Speech and Debate and Student Government. He aims to maintain the constitutionality of legislation and that each and every action by each and every member at ASUCD is in sound accordance with its laws while ensuring Court neutrality and impartiality. In his free time he likes to play lacrosse and tennis, read, watch movies and play board games with friends.